top of page

Pope Cletus

Pope Cletus was the third Bishop of Rome following Saint Peter and Saint Linus and served between AD 79 and AD 92. In Ancient Greek his name means "One who has been called".

As the third Bishop of Rome, Pope Cletus divided Rome into twenty-five parishes and ordained many priests. Pope Cletus was a convert to the Faith and was ordained by Saint Peter the Apostle. During the terrible persecutions of Domitian, Pope Cletus was martyred and buried along side his predecessor, Saint Linus.

Saint Cletus's relics are located in Saint Linus Church, Vatican City. His feast day is celebrated on April 26th.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page